First Chakra: Muladhara

The first of the chakras from the main system of seven is: Muladhara chakra. Shown on the right, the root chakra, has four petals bearing the Sanskrit letters va, scha, sha and sa. The seed sound in the center is lam. The tattwa of Earth is shown as a yellow square.

Meaning: Literal translation, root

Location: Base of spine, coccygeal plexus, legs, feet, large intestine

Element: Earth

Main issues & goals: Survival, grounding, nourishment, trust, health, home, family, prosperity, appropriate boundaries

Basic rights: To be here and have

Continue reading

Journal Writing

I have always written down my thoughts; it is therapeutic for mePhotoGrid_1433124958920 to put a pen in hand and that pen to paper. My first journal/diary dates back to 1990-91. I was 7-yrs-old. I used a pencil, resulting in faded entries, in addition to the messy handwriting most of us had at the age, they are difficult to read. I eventually learned to use a pen, and my handwriting had undergone MANY changes. In fact, it doesn’t stay the same, even now. I’ve never had that perfect, cute handwriting. I’m OK with that, I’m able to tell my mood based on the slant and script, cursive always slants to the right, print is straight up & down. One entry can contain both cursive and print (see image above). Also, I am not a strong speller; “know” & “now” for some reason elude me when I’m writing quickly, or I’m adding an “-e” onto the end of words that don’t need it. I like to write stream of conscious style, so it explains some of it. I used to try to make sure I was spelling words correctly but I would end up losing my train of thought. I decided I wasn’t being graded on spelling (sorry to ALL my English teachers), now I try to spell the word the best I can and put ‘(sp)’ after the offending word. It reminds me I tried and realize it’s incorrect. (I blame word processors and text correcting technology!)

Continue reading

Intro to chakras

The word chakra [chuhk-ruh] translates as “wheel” or “disk” and refers to a spinning sphere of bioenergetics activity, vital energy, or life force. There are many of these life forces located on different parts of our bodies, major and minor chakras. For my purposes, I will be focusing only on the seven major chakra system stacked along the spine, starting at the base (Chakra One) and ending at the crown of the head (Chakra Seven). These main chakras send energy up and down our body and like any transfer system, it can get blocked (deficient) or spring a leak (excess). There are ways of clearing and healing these elements so that the life force can continue to flow, giving us the energy we need to live each day to the fullest and manifest our true selves.

Continue reading